Wk1 – Art Experience – Plaster Casting ✋

Starting off ART 110 with the first assignment, plaster casting. I honestly had no idea what we were going to do & how we were going to do it. First, I decided to do this activity with some friends because I knew I was just going to mess up if I did it by myself. Plus, it’s always fun to find another excuse to hangout with friends.

I met up with Renette & Shannon to do our art activity. We decided to meet up at the Pike & do our plaster casting at the beach there. We actually had a hard time trying to find the parking lot, but we found it eventually. The activity seemed pretty simple, but when we started it was a mess. We made 3 holes for each of our hands & made the molds. Then, we started to mix our plaster with water & ended up splashing each other while mixing. But then, we were mixing our plaster too slowly & actually ended up making a mold of our bucket. I wish I took a picture of it, but sadly I did not. We tried another time & this time we started with the water & added the plaster to it. Slowly, we got the consistency right & then it was time to add the plaster mixture to the molds. After pouring the mixture, we had to wait awhile for it to dry.

It was stressful trying to get the hand molds out after it was dry. We were all trying to carefully take out the molds & well you’ll see how they turned out. All in all, it was a fun activity & I get to say my homework was to go to the beach.

Leave a Reply

